Thread: Financial Education in Schools

Financial Education in Schools

A friend emailed me this morning, with an attached magazine article regarding financial education in public schools. The article made several good points...

We teach computer classes and support athletic activities in our schools... Which is great... It really is...

But we discard music education and basic education as "unimportant", on a regular basis.

Music is one of the few disciplines which engages the mind, body, and soul... all at the same time.

Basic education, such as home economics... "Home Ec"... is routinely considered to be education for the inferior students, just like "Shop" class.

Personally, I think that all students should be required to take a "Home Ec" class, a "Shop" class, and a Basic Finance class. Other "technical" classes should also be promoted. Quite honestly, the most useful class that I ever took in high school was Typewriting/Word Processing. I graduated from high school in the early 1980s with a firm grasp of low-level computer programming, and able to type over 60 words per minute... all because I opted for a "low level" class.

But... the most important "low level" class that I think most students should be forced to take is a Basic Finance class. This magazine article drove the point home...

The children of the rich tend to stay rich... simply because they know how to manage their finances. As a travel professional with over 35 years of experience, I can assure you... Rich people don't become rich, and they don't stay rich, because they are stupid with money. We've all heard the stories about lottery winners who blow $200 million in less than 3 years.