Thread: Profiling

Profiling

I have posted about this subject before... Profiling...

An incident today (actually yesterday... Saturday) reminded me of this subject.

I'm talking about "Profiling" regarding security procedures in airports. The term "Profiling" is usually used in reference to a person's race or appearance, but actually, true profiling goes deeper than that, or, at least, it should.

Even as a lifelong travel professional, I don't have a problem with True profiling. That is, I don't have a problem with extra scrutiny of people who truly represent a potentially heightened threat, such as young solo travelers on short visits to potential "target" countries, or certain travelers using one-way tickets. Profiling potentially saves lives, although it is impossible to tell how many lives profiling saves, since any lives which profiling saves can never be identified. It's a part of our future that never happened, so to speak.

Unfortunately, profiling remains a crude and inexact science, and not nearly enough attention and resources are devoted to it. I am constantly reminded of the consequences of profiling. I speak with clients, friends, and colleagues on a daily basis about it. My own brother... a tall, thin white guy from the southeastern USA... used to get pulled aside for "extra screening" almost every time that he went to the airport. Why? He was a single male, under 25 years old, traveling alone, with no checked baggage, who bought his airline ticket within 3 days of travel. Of COURSE he got pulled aside every single time that he traveled. That was a foregone conclusion. He never did listen to me about that, and so it continued to happen to him. He did like complaining to me about it, though.