Thread: Another One Rides the Bus

Another One Rides the Bus

I met this sad creature at the airport (SJO) this (Thursday) evening...

He blew his entire life savings trying to open a bar in Esterillos. It failed.

Wait a Second! A Gringo bar? In Esterillos? And it failed? Say it ain't So!

"Well... my good Sir... how much experience have you had operating a bar or restaurant?"

"Oh... I've never done that before. It just sounded like a really good idea."

He's flying home to live with with his brother's family.

Anyone on the board ever heard this story before?

Nah... Me Neither...

So.. I wrote this handy, helpful flowchart... for people who might find themselves faced with the same situation, in the future:

flow cr restaurant.jpg

Aside from the "No Previous Experience" part, what most people don't realize is that it takes a shit-fuck-ton-load of Capital to get a bricks-and-mortar business, such as a bar or restaurant, going to the point where it can support itself.